Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Chit System

  1. #1
    Forum Regular
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Rhonnda Valleys
    Posts
    103

    Chit System

    Hi

    I've just started reading through the rules and keep returning to the chit pull system more and more confused than I was when I first read it!! Help!!

    OK - I've re-read again ...... this is how I am reading it - is this right?

    Using Situation HOD8 as an example......

    The British player puts 2 Op0 chits and 1 Op1 chit in "the cup" and the German player puts in 2 Op0 and 2 Op1 chits into the same cup.

    This makes a total of 7 chits in the cup.

    We then start the Chit pull system.

    One player pulls out a chit at random and the owning player of that chit can choose to use it.

    If its an Op's chit for example - they put it on the board and then can conduct one of the 4 operations.

    Does play stay on that turn and more chits are drawn, playing each one drawn ... unless both players choose not to play thier chits if drawn consecutively? If this occurs the turn then ends? Do you still get the Admin segment?


    It also states that no action is performed on the last chit drawn - does this mean that, for example, the last chit in the cup is one of your Op chits...does this mean you cannot conduct an operation but move onto the Admin segment, resolving your AR first?

    You then put all the chits back in the cup and start the next turn?

    Finally - on Turn 4 do you put your chits in as above, but this time the British player adds in a reenforcement chit?

    Would I be right in saying that it is possible for the reenforcements not to come into play should both players consecetively decide not to play a chit before the British player pulls out the reenforcement chit?


    I hope what I've asked makes sense??? I think this is the way to play it.

    Thanks in advance

    Cheers

    Sandyman

  2. #2
    Forum Veteran Gen. Sosabowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    627

    Re: Chit System

    Dear Phil:

    I'm not familiar with this rule. What is the source?
    Maj. General Stanislaw Sosabowski: Doesn't matter what it was. When one man says to another, "I know what let's do today, let's play the war game"...everybody dies.

  3. #3
    Forum Regular
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Rhonnda Valleys
    Posts
    103

    Re: Chit System

    Its PanzerBlitz 2: Hill of Death - I should have put that in the subject line.

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Forum Veteran Gen. Sosabowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    627

    Re: Chit System

    Quote Originally Posted by theSandmanCymru View Post
    Its PanzerBlitz 2: Hill of Death - I should have put that in the subject line.

    Cheers
    I thought I was going insane or losing my memory.
    Maj. General Stanislaw Sosabowski: Doesn't matter what it was. When one man says to another, "I know what let's do today, let's play the war game"...everybody dies.

  5. #5
    Forum Regular
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Rhonnda Valleys
    Posts
    103

    Re: Chit System

    Sorry Gen. I found the forum and could see people talking about PanzerBlitz the new version so I thought I could get some help here.

    You are not going insane my friend

    I remember the original game in a local store many years ago - nearly bought it way back then. Finally got around to the 'next gen' version

  6. #6
    Forum Veteran Gen. Sosabowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    627

    Re: Chit System

    Quote Originally Posted by theSandmanCymru View Post
    Sorry Gen. I found the forum and could see people talking about PanzerBlitz the new version so I thought I could get some help here.

    You are not going insane my friend

    I remember the original game in a local store many years ago - nearly bought it way back then. Finally got around to the 'next gen' version

    I don't think the original Panzer Leader influenced John Hill much, but it's pretty easy to trace a line of development from PanzerBlitz -> Panzer Leader -> Squad Leader Series -> ASL Series. If nothing else, the success of the Panzer Series influenced how Don Greenwood of AH went about developing and marketing the Squad Leader Series.

    The original games are quite good, especially considering that they are still relatively inexpensive. They are somewhat "dated" by today's standards, when compared to the block and area control wargames that are popular now. Still, I think they hold up rather well.

    I have been interested in getting the new MMP game, but ASL is more pressing at the moment.
    Maj. General Stanislaw Sosabowski: Doesn't matter what it was. When one man says to another, "I know what let's do today, let's play the war game"...everybody dies.

  7. #7
    Forum Conscript Random Generic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    38

    Re: Chit System

    Quote Originally Posted by theSandmanCymru View Post
    Hi

    I've just started reading through the rules and keep returning to the chit pull system more and more confused than I was when I first read it!! Help!!

    OK - I've re-read again ...... this is how I am reading it - is this right?

    Using Situation HOD8 as an example......

    The British player puts 2 Op0 chits and 1 Op1 chit in "the cup" and the German player puts in 2 Op0 and 2 Op1 chits into the same cup.

    This makes a total of 7 chits in the cup.

    We then start the Chit pull system.

    One player pulls out a chit at random and the owning player of that chit can choose to use it.

    If its an Op's chit for example - they put it on the board and then can conduct one of the 4 operations.

    Does play stay on that turn and more chits are drawn, playing each one drawn ... unless both players choose not to play thier chits if drawn consecutively? If this occurs the turn then ends? Do you still get the Admin segment?


    It also states that no action is performed on the last chit drawn - does this mean that, for example, the last chit in the cup is one of your Op chits...does this mean you cannot conduct an operation but move onto the Admin segment, resolving your AR first?

    You then put all the chits back in the cup and start the next turn?

    Finally - on Turn 4 do you put your chits in as above, but this time the British player adds in a reenforcement chit?

    Would I be right in saying that it is possible for the reenforcements not to come into play should both players consecetively decide not to play a chit before the British player pulls out the reenforcement chit?


    I hope what I've asked makes sense??? I think this is the way to play it.

    Thanks in advance

    Cheers

    Sandyman
    Well, of course the number on the chit is it's range in hexes...although you won't read that in the rules, it is the first item in the published errata.

    Once placed on the board, all units in range can perform ANY operation (not just one of the four, as you said) as long as it's done in the correct order...declare IPs, place ARs, direct fire, and movement with it's subsection of advancing fire, overruns, CAT attacks and Panzerblitz attacks. The units in range of the Op Chit are NOT restricted to one "type" of operation. Even with a "0" Chit you can have one unit fire, another move to overrun, and the third allowable (per stacking rules) unit roll for recovery.

    Regardless of how the Operation segment ends (consecutive passing or last chit in cup) the turn then progresses to the Administration segment, so certainly the Artillery will come down. Passing doesn't change that.

    If a re-inforcement chit is not used on the turn it is provided, again from consecutive passing or by being the last chit in the cup, it is by the rules utilized as the FIRST CHIT PLAYED in the next turn. Regular drawing would recommence after the re-inforcement chit is played.

    I can't imagine a reason for the owner of a re-inforcement chit in the cup to pass and end the turn...why delay your re-inforcement pool a whole turn?

    Yes...if you own the last chit in the cup, you do not get to use it on the board and it is in essence lost for the turn. The thin benefit you get is that your Arty comes down first. Of course, if you have HIS arty spotter under an AR, you get a chance to disrupt him and therefore remove his AR counter before he gets to use it. Can be a major bonus if it works that way for you...or a heartbreaker if it's used against you.

    Your comments on the assembly of chits at the beginning of the turn are esentially correct...but don't forget to include any Air Support chits, Re-inforcement chits, or new chits (or chit changes) granted by the scenario card for the turn in question.

    Hope I understood the questions being answered and managed to be of help.

    RG

  8. #8
    Forum Veteran Gen. Sosabowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    627

    Re: Chit System

    Quote Originally Posted by Random Generic View Post
    Well, of course the number on the chit is it's range in hexes...although you won't read that in the rules, it is the first item in the published errata.

    Once placed on the board, all units in range can perform ANY operation (not just one of the four, as you said) as long as it's done in the correct order...declare IPs, place ARs, direct fire, and movement with it's subsection of advancing fire, overruns, CAT attacks and Panzerblitz attacks. The units in range of the Op Chit are NOT restricted to one "type" of operation. Even with a "0" Chit you can have one unit fire, another move to overrun, and the third allowable (per stacking rules) unit roll for recovery.

    Regardless of how the Operation segment ends (consecutive passing or last chit in cup) the turn then progresses to the Administration segment, so certainly the Artillery will come down. Passing doesn't change that.

    If a re-inforcement chit is not used on the turn it is provided, again from consecutive passing or by being the last chit in the cup, it is by the rules utilized as the FIRST CHIT PLAYED in the next turn. Regular drawing would recommence after the re-inforcement chit is played.

    I can't imagine a reason for the owner of a re-inforcement chit in the cup to pass and end the turn...why delay your re-inforcement pool a whole turn?

    Yes...if you own the last chit in the cup, you do not get to use it on the board and it is in essence lost for the turn. The thin benefit you get is that your Arty comes down first. Of course, if you have HIS arty spotter under an AR, you get a chance to disrupt him and therefore remove his AR counter before he gets to use it. Can be a major bonus if it works that way for you...or a heartbreaker if it's used against you.

    Your comments on the assembly of chits at the beginning of the turn are esentially correct...but don't forget to include any Air Support chits, Re-inforcement chits, or new chits (or chit changes) granted by the scenario card for the turn in question.

    Hope I understood the questions being answered and managed to be of help.

    RG
    Thanks for bailing me out!

    FWIW to new players, the PB2 sounds much more complicated than the original AH releases.
    Maj. General Stanislaw Sosabowski: Doesn't matter what it was. When one man says to another, "I know what let's do today, let's play the war game"...everybody dies.

  9. #9
    Argentine Dove Hunter BobO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    2,443

    Re: Chit System

    Quote Originally Posted by Gen. Sosabowski View Post
    FWIW to new players, the PB2 sounds much more complicated than the original AH releases.
    Except is isn't much more complicated.
    Six Flags! More Flags, More Fun!

  10. #10
    Forum Sentinel
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Bloomfield, MI
    Posts
    3,027

    Re: Chit System

    But it is different.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Chit Draw for Artillery
    By iamspamus in forum Advanced Squad Leader
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02 Jun 09, 20:31
  2. Uhmmmm...chit!
    By Bdr.Mallette in forum TOAW: Europe Aflame
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16 Jun 07, 15:19
  3. ASL Chit-Chat
    By Dr Zaius in forum Advanced Squad Leader
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 03 Oct 06, 18:35
  4. Re-Roll Chit for ASL
    By Glennbo in forum Advanced Squad Leader
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 13 Jun 06, 20:29
  5. Chit draws
    By Rob Tyson in forum VASL
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06 Jun 05, 16:34

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •