Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Street fighting question

  1. #1
    DM? Chuck H2O in his face MajorDomo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Fluid
    Posts
    2,036

    Street fighting question


    In the above picture it is the russian turn CCPh.

    Can the german infantry squad engage the russian AFV in CC using street fighting during the CCPh (after passing a PAATC)?

    Thanks,
    Rich
    It is incumbent on every generation to pay its own debts as it goes. A principle which if acted on would save one-half the wars of the world - Thomas Jefferson

  2. #2
    Vare, legiones redde! jrv's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Teutoburger Wald
    Posts
    7,194

    Re: Street fighting question

    Quote Originally Posted by MajorDomo View Post

    In the above picture it is the russian turn CCPh.

    Can the german infantry squad engage the russian AFV in CC using street fighting during the CCPh (after passing a PAATC)?
    Per A11.8, "All Infantry advancing into that road Location from ground level of one or more of those adjacent building hexes qualify for a Street-fighting Ambush". Since your Infantry is not advancing, it is not eligible. Further, per A11.1 CC can only be conducted between units in the same Location [EXC: Pillbox], so no attack could be conducted until the Infantry does occupy the same Location as the vehicle.

    JR
    Quintili Vare, legiones redde!

  3. #3
    The Swiss Moron Swiftandsure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    11,764

    Re: Street fighting question

    EXC : during the vehicle's MPh, the squad (if still able to) can conduct a CC Reaction Fire by jumping from the building onto the moving tank - and returning to the building if not pinned, broken... or eliminated.
    "It's so much easier to pray for a bore than to go and see one."
    Clive Staples Lewis (1898-1963).

  4. #4
    Vare, legiones redde! jrv's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Teutoburger Wald
    Posts
    7,194

    Re: Street fighting question

    Quote Originally Posted by Swiftandsure View Post
    EXC : during the vehicle's MPh, the squad (if still able to) can conduct a CC Reaction Fire by jumping from the building onto the moving tank - and returning to the building if not pinned, broken... or eliminated.
    True, but per the original question: "In the above picture it is the russian turn CCPh."

    JR
    Quintili Vare, legiones redde!

  5. #5
    The Swiss Moron Swiftandsure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    11,764

    Re: Street fighting question

    Quote Originally Posted by jrv View Post
    True, but per the original question: "In the above picture it is the russian turn CCPh."
    I was answering your precision :
    Quote Originally Posted by jrv View Post
    per A11.1 CC can only be conducted between units in the same Location [EXC: Pillbox], so no attack could be conducted until the Infantry does occupy the same Location as the vehicle.
    "It's so much easier to pray for a bore than to go and see one."
    Clive Staples Lewis (1898-1963).

  6. #6
    DM? Chuck H2O in his face MajorDomo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Fluid
    Posts
    2,036

    Re: Street fighting question

    So the consesus if that the german squad can attack the vehicle (after a PAATC):

    1. During the russian MPh with Street Fighting ambush by pseudo "advancing" into the street and returning to the building.
    2. During the german CCPh by Advancing into the AFV's hex, then returning to the building after CC (if able)
    3. But not during the russian CCPh by pseudo "advancing" into the street and returning to the building after CC (if able)

    Several players I have encountered believe that #3 above is not true, hence the question.

    Thanks,
    Rich
    It is incumbent on every generation to pay its own debts as it goes. A principle which if acted on would save one-half the wars of the world - Thomas Jefferson

  7. #7
    Super Moderator MODERATOR
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    10,837

    Re: Street fighting question

    Quote Originally Posted by MajorDomo View Post
    So the consesus if that the german squad can attack the vehicle (after a PAATC):

    1. During the russian MPh with Street Fighting ambush by pseudo "advancing" into the street and returning to the building.
    2. During the german CCPh by Advancing into the AFV's hex, then returning to the building after CC (if able)
    3. But not during the russian CCPh by pseudo "advancing" into the street and returning to the building after CC (if able)

    Several players I have encountered believe that #3 above is not true, hence the question.

    Thanks,
    Rich
    That is how I have always seen it played.

    I suspect that these other folks are confusing the ability to street fight a vehicle in VBM from the same hex or a vehicle on a narrow street from either adjacent hex (B31.132) without actually advancing into CC.
    Putting the "fun" back in dysfunctional....

  8. #8
    See Dummies in the index Vinnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Aberdeen , Scotland
    Posts
    15,411
    Blog Entries
    3

    Re: Street fighting question

    Yes, if he is in bypass in your hex then you get the street fighting bonus but you can't come out in the other players ccph.
    What do we want? Time travel! When do we want it? It's irrelevant!

    Practice safe eating...always use a condiment!

Similar Threads

  1. Street Fighting
    By milhaud in forum ASL Rules & Errata
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09 Jan 12, 07:23
  2. Street Fighting question
    By mgmasl in forum ASL Rules & Errata
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12 Jan 11, 18:51
  3. A11.8 Street Fighting againts stationary bypass question
    By mgmasl in forum ASL Rules & Errata
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24 Sep 07, 18:40
  4. CC Reaction Fire + Street Fighting question
    By Fridtjof in forum ASL Rules & Errata
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30 Jul 07, 10:33
  5. A11.8 Street Fighting
    By zgrose in forum ASL Rules & Errata
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16 Oct 04, 02:50

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •