Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: MAW: a big doubt about command range of high rank mexican leaders

  1. #1
    Noob Recruit
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    rome
    Posts
    2

    MAW: a big doubt about command range of high rank mexican leaders

    Hi to all.
    I'm playing with HPS Mexican-American War with the mexican faction.

    I've noticed that army/divisional leader don't have any command range both in "Parameter data" file and Command Range function in the buttons menu.

    This seems very strange to me: the mexican regimental leader has 4 hex, the brigade leader has 6-8 hex, why don't superior leaders have any command range?

    Therefore, I've also noticed that in some scenarios, a brigade leader starts as "DETACHED", because, I presume, his superior in hierarchy is far away.

    But if in next turns I put the superior leader near to the subordinate leader, the latter mantain is "DETACHED" status, even if they belogn to the same organization.

    Excuse my poor english,
    Fosforo

  2. #2
    HPS/JTS Forum Moderator MODERATOR Gary McClellan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    OK
    Posts
    560

    Re: MAW: a big doubt about command range of high rank mexican leaders

    Ok, for the purposes of the game, leaders above Brigade Leader are assumed to have "infinite" command range. That is to say, they can command units anywhere on the map. (Note, this varies by the Tiller-engine game. In some, such as American Civil War, higher level leaders have a command range).


    As to the Detached leaders, that's most likely because of the leadership die roll, and not from being too far.

    The way it works is this.

    Every turn, the highest level leader (usually Army) has a "die" rolled against his command score.

    If he passes that check, he passes a +1 bonus down to the next level leader. If he fails, the next leader gets no bonus.

    That leader (Say, D level in this case) then rolls against his command level (with or without the above bonus).
    -If this fails, no bonus passes down.
    - If he passes and if the A level leader also passed, a +2 bonus is passed down.
    - If he passes but the A level leader did not pass, a +1 bonus is passed down.

    Then the Brigade Leader rolls.
    - If he fails, no bonus passes down (even if he had a +2 bonus coming in).
    - If he passes, then +1 is added to the cumulative bonus to this point.

    Then finally the regimental leader rolls. (He only recieves the bonus if he is in the command range of his Brigade Leader)
    -if he fails, he is considered detached even if he is in the same hex as his higher level leader.
    - if he passes, all of his units within his command range are in command.
    Scenario Designer
    HPS Midway

  3. #3
    Noob Recruit
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    rome
    Posts
    2

    Re: MAW: a big doubt about command range of high rank mexican leaders

    Many thanks for your response, but I'm a bit confused yet.

    In the general game rule (ewb.pdf) I've found:

    Select Detached Units to highlight units that are Detached. This can be either individual units that are beyond the Command Radius of their leader, or it can be a Regiment Leader that is beyond the Command Radius of his commander.
    and more:
    American and Enemy Command Distances
    Regiment: the maximum distance that a unit can be from its Regimental commander and still be in command and not Detached.
    Brigade: the maximum distance that a Regimental leader can be from his Brigade leader and still be in command and not Detached.


    So it seems that the Detached status of a Regimental leader is related to the distance from his Brigade leader (in term of Command Radius).
    Therefore, I didn't find in the Rules file (user.pdf) that if a Regimental leader misses his COMMAND ROLL, he becomes "Detached" independently from the commander proximity. It seems to me that the COMMAND ROLL is used only as modifier of the "Test of Undisruption" of the units.

    An error in the rules? Or I'm misunderastanding some aspect?
    Thanks
    Fosforo

    EDIT: I've opened the relative oob file of the scenario I'm playing: TWI011_Bexar_04h.scn.
    Is a very strange oob, because there is a Division leader and some Regimental leaders but there are no Brigade leaders.
    So I suppose that any regimental leader, without his direct commander not provided in this scenario, is in "detached" status for default.
    Last edited by fosforo; 14 Mar 12 at 15:52.

  4. #4
    Forum Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Posts
    182

    Re: MAW: a big doubt about command range of high rank mexican leaders

    That is correct. Please remember the armies active during the TWI, weren't always organized in nice 'game term' hierarchy. So the OOB isn't strange, just representing the actual structure on the ground. The missing brigade level does make the Mexican army more brittle for this scenario and somewhat sluggish. I like modeling the army this way, instead of giving the troops very poor quality, as it shows more accurately where the problems within the army lay, within the leadership, not with the troops. They were brave enough and new thier jobs. The upper echelon leaders didn't always do well.
    Al

    Start with God - the first step in learning is bowing down to God; only fools thumb their noses at such wisdom and learning. - Proverbs 1:7 The Message

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12 Jan 08, 20:51
  2. ASLSK: To Hit Range zero. ATT Range zero. CC with friendly and enemy AFVs
    By jrv in forum The Unofficial Perry Sez Collection
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12 Jan 08, 20:48
  3. Mexican President says US must not crack down . . .
    By Dr Zaius in forum Religion & Politics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08 Sep 07, 11:32
  4. High Command
    By Bdr.Mallette in forum TOAW: Europe Aflame
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29 Mar 05, 01:07
  5. Intercepted German message to the High Command
    By CyberRanger in forum TOAW After Actions Reports and Notes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12 Mar 04, 09:40

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •