PDA

View Full Version : AAR Ph Tnoat (in progress)

cromlechi
27 Nov 08, 16:56
Intro

I have always fancied having a go at writing an AAR and have decided to finally give it a go. I am new to Squad Battles only having played a few games. So, I am more than open to feedback and advice. This will be an ongoing AAR and I'll post updates as the game progresses. Hopefully my opponent will not mind, perhaps he'll even contribute!

Game

Squad Battles Vietnam

Scenario : The Battle of Ph Tnoat

Blurb: [Company, Helicopters] 10 May 1970. During the Cambodian incursion of 1970, the Army pursued the NVA through the border areas just across the South Vietnamese border. At the Cambodian village of Ph Tnaot, the NVA stood and fought.

Designer: John Tiller

PBEM

Options - all options on

Turn 1

As you can see from the screen shot I have a company of Infantry who are very well armed.

In total my strength is 90 men, 4 leaders, 156 weapons. In addition to this I have some support from Cobra helicopters that I will have to work out how to use!

The first decision I need to make is my broad, overall plan of attack. I have decided (see screenshot) to split my force into three squads, each led by a leader. Franks will probe towards the village in the south, Blake to the one in the north and Colburn the one in the middle. They have all, at this stage been advised to work their way through the scattered villages as much as possible as these seem to offer the best cover.

I do not think my opponent is back until after Sunday, so no immediate update expected.

Mike Cox
28 Nov 08, 23:16
Looking forward to it.

cromlechi
06 Dec 08, 05:12
After a little mix up with emails we are back on track.

Image shows the situation at the end of turn 2. There is no contact with the enemy but I presume there are defenders around each objective.