Main-alt.pdt
MainHigh.pdt
MainHighNT.pdt
MainLight.pdt
MainLightHigh.pdt
MainLightHighNT.pdt
MainLightNT.pdt
MainNT.pdt

So I'm trying to figure out which is which so I can make some fun scenarios. Now, what's the meaning of "High", "Light", "NT" and "-alt" in the titles?

OK, since I'm not helpless I did find a text compare program (TextDiff) and compared "Main.pdt" and "Main-alt.pdt". The only difference is in line 23, where a "0" becomes a "7", but looking in the Parameter Data menu generated by F2 in the game, there aren't any sevens! So I suspect that line is a summary of binaries, perhaps, as in 0111.

Just to be thorough, I loaded up the game with "Main.pdt" as the parameter file for the scenario, pressed F2 to get the Parameter Data Dialog (can you tell I'm an engineer?), did a "Select All" from a right click menu, then pasted it in a text file. I did the same for "Main-alt.pdt" as the file for another scenario. When I compared the two using TextDiff, I found the difference was that "Main-alt" allowed Jungle Indirect Fire. Cool.

jztemple
25 Jun 08, 17:19
Ah, heck, since I'm doing the research I figure I might as well double post. Here are my findings:

These parameter data files are from Pacific War:

Main.pdt = default parameter file

Main-alt.pdt = only change is that indirect jungle fire is allowed

MainHigh.pdt = only change is that in "Main.pdt" infantry and wheeled vehicles cannot cross reef hexsides and tracked vehicles pay 6MP. In MainHigh, all three cross a reef hexside at no cost.

MainLight.pdt = one change is that indirect jungle fire is allowed. Another is that while in Main tracked vehicles cannot enter jungles hexes, in MainLight they can (note that infantry can always enter, wheeled may never enter).

MainNT.pdt = In Main, tunnel movement is allowed. In NT, it's not.

MainHighNT.pdt = Same as "MainHigh" plus "MainNT". effects.