PDA

View Full Version : Umm. I can't even beat the starting scenario in AoTR.

mgdpublic
25 Mar 08, 22:08
Is there an online guide or strategy article for this game. I can't even beat the
starting mission "Assault on Red October." I've played a bunch of war games before and am not a total noob but I don't know what I'm doing wrong in this. I smoke to advance, use my satchel charges, attempt to pin and then assault but I can't get all three objectives within the six turns. Most I can get is two. Little help? Thanks.

rahamy
25 Mar 08, 22:41
Is there an online guide or strategy article for this game. I can't even beat the
starting mission "Assault on Red October." I've played a bunch of war games before and am not a total noob but I don't know what I'm doing wrong in this. I smoke to advance, use my satchel charges, attempt to pin and then assault but I can't get all three objectives within the six turns. Most I can get is two. Little help? Thanks.

Welcome to the forums! Did you read the "Getting Started" help file that goes with that scenario? It covers a lot of the basics, but not necessarily how to win. Its been years since I played that, so I don't have any advice right off the bat...except don't be too worried about it. If you have the basics down, move on to another scenario and see how you do.

And don't be shy about getting a PBEM game going, as many players will be happy to give you pointers as you play, which can really help.

TheBigRedOne
25 Mar 08, 23:10

I don't think I ever beat the Starting scenario in Vietnam!

Dave68124
26 Mar 08, 00:24

Don't feel bad. If I recall, I had to play that scenario about 5 times before I actually won at it. Check out the following web site dedicated to Squad Battles. I believe there are few articles on tactics, etc.

http://www.wargamer.com/Hosted/SquadBattles/