PDA

View Full Version : Howdy from Colorado

19Echeaux
21 Apr 06, 01:22
Greetings, Grognards:

I'm 19Echeaux (pronounced, One Niner Echo), from Castle Rock, Colorado. I'm a 42 year-old guy who has been playing wargames since 1977. I've been on the Internet since 1993 or 94 or so, and it was the old original Harpoon game that got me dying to get a computer.

I'm a modeler and a musician (cello, mandolin, keyboards), a poet and a writer (nothing major published so far). I am an armchair general of the most annoying stripe, a pompous know-it-all on the issue of geoplotics, and a blowhard adherent and proponent of the concept of the Pax Americana (the American-Imposed Peace).

I served in the US Army for a very short time as an M60A1 armor crewman (MOS 19E), made it through basic and AIT at Ft Knox, but bailed before graduating to the 2nd Armored Division because I had a guaranteed contract for the first class of M1 tankers out of Knox but ended up in A-1-1 in the last class of M60A1s. That was 1982-1983, the days of the InterGerman Border, and the last thing I wanted to do was face the oncoming Soviet hordes in a machine with a 60-second lifespan after the balloon went up. I had read too many accounts of Shermans vs Tigers, and I wasn't up for being cannon fodder.